EU Social Networks
Social Media

Middle States Reaccreditation 2012

Eastern University is accredited by the Middle States Commission on Higher Education, a voluntary, nongovernmental, peer-based membership association dedicated to promoting standards of excellence and improvement in higher education. The decennial reaccreditation process began in 2010 and culminates in 2012 with the presentation of a University Self-Study to representatives from Middle States, who will visit our campus in the Spring of 2012. Over 75 members of the Eastern community are involved in the preparation of the Self-Study. The team of external peer educators from Middle States will visit our campus from March 11 to March 14, 2012.

The Mission of the University Self-Study

“Advancing Our Mission of Faith, Reason and Justice”

EU’s 2012 MSCHE Self-Study will advance the University to a future marked by academic quality, operational excellence, and strategic change, where quality and excellence are validated by evidence. We will achieve this by aligning planning, resources, assessment and decision making with EU’s academic mission. Our new future will also satisfy the “Characteristics of Excellence” as defined by MSCHE.

The Self-Study Steering Committee


Kent Sparks, MBA, PhD, Professor of Biblical Studies; Special Asst. to the Provost

Vice Chair

Polly Berol, MBA, Associate Provost of Finance and Administration

Diana Bacci, MBA, Vice President for Administration and University Registrar

Bettie Ann Brigham, MS, Vice President for Student Development

Tom Dahlstrom, MBA, Director of Institutional Research

Debra Heath-Thornton, EdD, Dean, Campolo College of Grad and Prof Studies

Walter Huddell, PhD, Associate Professor of Mathematics

Masego Kebaetse, PhD, Educational Technologist, Palmer Theological Seminary

Christine Mahan, PhD, Associate Provost for Institutional Effectiveness

Wendy Mercier, PhD, Associate Professor of Biokinetics & Biology

Julie Morgan, EdD, Professor of Communication Studies

John Pauley, PhD, Chair and Professor of Communication Studies

Ruth Palmer, PhD, Professor of Counseling Psychology

Joe Spedding, MA, Director of Financial Information Systems

Jonathan Yonan, DPhil, Dean, Templeton Honors College

Chief Editor

Chris Bittenbender, PhD, Professor of English

Campus Visit Coordinator

Nancy Hartsock, BA, Executive Assistant to the Provost

Ex Officio Member

David King, EdD, Provost


Visit from Chair of MSCHE Peer Team November 1-2, 2011

Finalization of Self-Study Report December, 2011

Submission of the Self-Study February 2012

Middle States Team Visit March 11-14, 2012

Middle States Reaccreditation Decision July 2012 (approximately)


The 2012 Self-Study

Monitoring Report

Students can review the Self Study electronically through the MSCHE link on MyEastern

Back to Top