Certification in Reading Specialist (K-12)

Certification in Reading Specialist (K-12)

This program is designed to prepare students to serve as K-12 Reading Specialists who support students and teachers through research-based approaches to assessment and instruction. The Specialist Certification programs are offered only at the graduate level and candidates must hold an Instructional I or II certification.

Program Details


  • Convenient online or evening classes that meet once per week at our St. Davids campus
  • Opportunity to put coursework towards the MEd in Reading
  • Competitive tuition and financial aid options available
  • Faculty with extensive experience in a variety of educational settings
  • Individualized program of study created for each student based on previously completed coursework and current PDE requirements
  • Hands-on experience through completion of Reading Specialist Practicum

PA Certification Requirements

Applicants must fulfill the following requirements before being recommended for a PA certification in their certification area.

  • Hold an Elementary or Secondary Education Certification
  • An exiting GPA of 3.0
  • Successful Completion of course requirements in their certification area
  • Successful Completion of PRAXIS II test (5301)
  • Practicum taken under the supervision of a university faculty member who is also a certified Reading Specialist.

Contact Your Enrollment Counselor

Back to Top