Certification in Reading Specialist (K-12)

This program is designed to prepare students to serve as K-12 Reading Specialists who support students and teachers through research-based approaches to assessment and instruction. The Specialist Certification programs are offered only at the graduate level and candidates must hold an Instructional I or II certification.

Program Details

PA Certification Requirements

Applicants must fulfill the following requirements before being recommended for a PA certification in their certification area.

  • Hold a Instructional I or II Certification
  • An exiting GPA of 3.0
  • Successful Completion of course requirements in their certification area
  • Successful Completion of PRAXIS II test (5301)
  • Practicum taken under the supervision of a university faculty member who is also a certified Reading Specialist.

Learn More: Why Eastern?